NTC expands SIM registration rollout in far-flung communities

The National Telecommunications Commission (NTC) has started the rollout of SIM registration in remote areas of the county to reach more people who have limited access to the internet.

NTC officer-in-charge commissioner Ella Blanca B. Lopez said this was aimed at maximizing SIM subscriber participation and helping ensure the successful implementation of the SIM Registration Act.

Among the 15 locations identified as pilot ares for assisted registration are Ilocos Norte, Cebu, Leyte Bukidnon, Davao del Sur, Benguet, Cagayan, Bulacan, Batangas, Zamboanga del Sur, Oriebtal Mindoro, Albay, Iloilo, Cotobato and Surigao del Norte.

As of January 24, a total of 24.92 million SIMs have been registered, accounting for 14.75 percent of the 168.98 million subscribers nationwide.