11 outstanding Filipinas honored as 2022 TOWNS awardees

Eleven extraordinary Filipinas who excelled in their respective fields were honored with The Outstanding Woman in the Nations Service (TOWNS) for 2022.

Among those who received the award were Keisha Alena Mayuga (Transport Planning), Ana Patricia Non (Community Service), Dr. Erika Fille Legara (Data Science), Aletta Yñiguez (Marine Science) , Anna Rosario Oposa (Marine Ecology Conservation), Georgina Romero (Women Empowerment Through ICT), Dr. Pia D. Bagamasbad (Molecular Biology), Dr. Ani Rosa Almario (from the field of Education and Entrpreneurship) Rubilen Amit (Sports), Dr. Beverly Lorraine Ho (Medicine/Public Health) and Patricia Ranada (Investigative Journalism).

This year’s honorees celebrated with an intimate lunch with previous awardees including Lorna Kapunan, Margie de la Rama, Lyca Benitez-Brown, Gang Badoy, Karen Davila, Reena Estuar, Bing Carreon, Trina Prodigalidad, Karla Guitierrez, Ging Zamora and Gay Jane Perez.

The TOWNS Award is a prestigious recognition given only every three years to women who excelled or significantly contributed to their fields and sectors.

The lunch was emceed by Che Che Lazaro, who herself received a TOWNS for journalism.
Currently, TOWNS is led by its president Ces Oreña-Drilon. Atty Lilia de Lima, former PEZA director general and Dr Espie Cabral, former DSWD and DOH Secretary, were co-chairpersons.